Some of the 1960s teenybopper stuff is actually really good!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Joshua277456, Nov 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CliffL

CliffL Forum Resident

I'm a 1974 graduate and I felt the same way...the top 40 stations in those days played virtually every genre and all I cared about was whether a given song was good or not by my standards. I dig a lot of
    Lesley Gore too!

2. trumpet sounds

trumpet sounds "The radio makes hideous sounds." Bob Dylan

3. ReadySteady

ReadySteady Custom Title

Damn, didn't know they were going for that much now. I bought a mono California Nights for about 8 buck (not mint, but plays fine) a few years back. But that's nothing, I was able to snag a near-mint mono copy of I'll Cry if I Want To for 99 cents at a flea market.

Donfrance likes this.
  4. Michael P

Michael P Forum Resident

Well when you see who produced and co-wrote the song, it no wonder: The late great Bob Crewe!

5. Michael P

Michael P Forum Resident

1967 is when Mercury started experimenting with mono labeled LP's with stereo disks inside. If the dead-wax has "2/6xxxx" for the catalog number the "mono" LP will actually play in stereo. I have a "mono" Blues Magoos "Psychedelic Lollypop" that plays stereo.

All of you with mono copies check you dead-wax!

The stereo sounds great, unlike other records from the same era.

6. zen

zen Senior Member

60's....70's....80's....even this century. There's good "teenybopper" stuff in them their hills. :tiphat:

7. Driver 8

Driver 8 Senior Member

And, of course, the Beatles' first two albums were loaded with covers of American girl groups and Motown artists from the supposedly "terrible" '60-'63 era that they came to save us from.

8. Driver 8

Driver 8 Senior Member

70s hit/Top 40 radio was so wonderful in that regard. The diversity of what you would hear from song to song was amazing.

9. Chip TRG

Chip TRG Senior Member