“Mastered by Nimbus” CDs question.

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by flashgordon, May 25, 2007.

1. Smiths22

Smiths22 Well-Known Member

Have a uk depeche mode - violator mastered by Nimbus........the BEST sound.

2. havefun6699

havefun6699 Senior Member

Very interesting information from the very first hands, thank you.
    Could you give any comments about this two slightly various matrixes of the same edition? Why fonts are different? Which pressing is earlier?
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

3. alainsane

alainsane Hyperactive!

I have a Crass CD with a "MASTERED BY MAYKING" stamp, and while I'm fairly certain it's not a first pressing of this disc (and that the first pressing was a French MPO pressing), it'd be difficult to convince me that this disc was manufactured in 1997 or later (as per the quoted discogs information about Mayking). The CD tray has no UPC. There are no IFPI marks. The CD case is built very sturdily and has one of those more spread-out spindle designs. ??
    [​IMG]

c-eling likes this.
  4. Capt Fongsby

Capt Fongsby Music is the best. ... And cats.

I seem to remember reading somewhere that this happened in 1987. (I'm sure somebody on the forum knows for certain...)

5. c-eling

c-eling They're made of light,We never would have guessed

I have a Mayking 1992, Also a Treble Charger NC17 Canadian 1994 with no barcode but with a IFPI code, maybe it was given out/sold at concerts :shrug:

alainsane likes this.
  6. alainsane

alainsane Hyperactive!

Yah...it *is* a Crass Records release, so I think a little latitude should be given for a lack of adherence to standards. ;) I am inclined to believe this was a 1990-92 release.

*edit*
    I found this blurb in a February, 1985 Billboard magazine:
    [​IMG]
    and another one from New Scientist March 21st:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 23, 2014
    c-eling likes this.
  7. stenway

stenway Forum Resident

more "mistery" about the dots, this time I found one CD with 3 dots and other CD with 4:
    :.