Phish: What Are You Listening To?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by B-Mike, Jul 27, 2015.

1. B-Mike

B-Mike Forum Resident Thread Starter

This thread is a shameless rip-off of the Grateful Dead thread of the same name, which is one of my favorites on the forum. There seem to be enough Phish pholks around here for it. (I'm no Phish expert; I just like to listen.)

Yesterday, I put on an old favorite for the first time in a while -- 11/17/97.
    13 songs in the show, 7 of which are 12 minutes plus.
    Show opens with 32 minutes of Tweezer & Reba. After that, more nice long jams, including the Denver Jam, Ghost, Disease, and YEM. And throw in covers of Fire and Johnny B. Goode.

Live Phish 11, 11/17/97, Denver, CO
    http://www.livephish.com/browse/music/0,489/

[​IMG]

2. Crispy Rob

Crispy Rob Cat Juggler

Watched the first set of the Star Lake '98 DVD set last night, very strong set overall, with an interesting jam out of Fee focused on a riff done with harmonics by Trey, going into an excellent version of Maze. Will probably not get a chance to watch the second set for a few evenings, but it is on deck for whenever I have a chance.

Previous recent listens (other than seeing them play an excellent show at Shoreline on Friday) have been the Amsterdam box (I was at the 2/17/97 show) and the Bomb Factory '94 show, which I picked up used 3 months ago or so. I've got about 7 or 8 of the original Live Phish series releases, but don't have and have never heard that Denver '97 show. Great era for the band, of course.

3. phish

phish Jack Your Body

I'm listening to the Amsterdam box.

4. Crispy Rob

Crispy Rob Cat Juggler