Miles Davis - The Definitive Bootleg Series Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Lonson, Oct 30, 2011.

1. Gabe Walters

Gabe Walters Forum Resident

So, Nightswimmer is assuming that there's a contract that governs CD or other media release of these 1960 European radio broadcasts, and you're assuming that if there is a contract, it was made under duress and without legal counsel and therefore is void. Both assumptions are likely wrong. The truth of the matter is likely that it is perfectly legal to release, in Europe, a radio broadcast that was recorded and done in Europe, even before expiration of the 50-year copyright term, so long as the public broadcaster authorized the release. I'm not a lawyer in Europe, but that's my understanding. When this box set was legitimately released in Europe, in 1994, that copyright period had not yet expired, but it didn't matter, because the release was authorized and fully above board under applicable law.

Now, whether that release that is lawful in Europe may be imported to and sold in the US lawfully, that's a separate issue, and I don't know.

DTK likes this.
  2. J.A.W.

J.A.W. Music Addict

Except for recordings that hadn't yet been published/released at the time of the extension, if I remember correctly.

3. citizensmurf

citizensmurf Ambient postpunk will never die

I know these Euro 1960 recordings are out there already, but I would gladly buy an official set from Sony, if only to lend support to the bootleg series, and have more stuff we may have not heard.

Yes I had those '67 recordings already, but now I have no real reason to dig out those discs when I can listen to the BS set. I mean, I have a hard drive full of live recordings, but there are too many new and archival releases coming out for me to care about some 3rd generation FM recording.

4. Nightswimmer

Nightswimmer Forum Resident