Adding an Equalizer

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by MegaGroove, Jul 14, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MegaGroove

MegaGroove Member Thread Starter

Hey Everyone,
    I'm new to vinyl and really ignorant as far as audio equipment goes, so I'm looking for a bit of advice. Does anyone know if I can add a small equalizer to my setup? I'm listening to vinyl exclusively through headphones and this is my current setup:

Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable
    Schiit Mani phone stage
    Micromega MyZic headphone amp (or I can swap this for my Schiit Magni 2 Uber)
    Sennheiser HD 598 headphones

I'm trying to get more control over bass, mids, and treble, so I'm wondering if I can throw a small (similar in size to my phono stage or amp) equalizer in there somewhere...something in the range of $20-$100. I'm also wondering if this is just a stupid thing to do. Ha ha!

Heckto35 likes this.
  2. The Pinhead

The Pinhead KING OF BOOM AND SIZZLE IN HELL

On_the_dunes and MegaGroove like this.
  3. MegaGroove

Thanks! I actually saw that on the internet but thought it was only for instruments and live performances. I'm happy to find out it will work with my turntable setup.

4. tim185

tim185 Forum Resident

A BEHRINGER EQ?
    Seriously, dont do it.
    I wouldnt make a tuner pedal made by Behringer, much less an EQ.

5. MegaGroove

Thanks for the feedback, tim185. Any suggestions on other options instead?

6. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

Do you own the Schiit Magni 2 Uber? Which amp do you like better?

An inexpensive graphic EQ is going to cause more sound quality issues than it solves. Analog EQs worth using are expensive. Very expensive. EQs very often do more harm than good unless you are an expert mastering engineer and know how to use an EQ properly.