What is the easiest way to digitize my records?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Phono Groove, Dec 5, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AKA Bubbleup

AKA Bubbleup Forum Resident

[​IMG]

Digitized :wiggle:

Kyhl, BGLeduc, ex_mixer and 3 others like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

It doesn't matter what level your amp is set at, you can adjust its volume without affect to your recording. In Audacity, there is a control with the icon of a microphone and a slider - use that to control recording volume. Start recording and look at the waveform. If the waveform is really small, you may increase the recording volume, but do not increase it so much that the peaks are shaved off. The important thing is that you get the full range of dynamics in your recording.

3. Phono Groove

Phono Groove Forum Resident Thread Starter

I tried my first needledrop and it came out as a success, I used audacity then cleaned the noise from the track with clickrepair so far so good! One question; howcome the left channel seems to have slightly more volume than the right. Im seeing this in audacity the left always reaches higher than the right!?!

4. Gaslight

Gaslight ⎧⚍⎫⚑

Could be the record, or it could be your setup. Might want to eliminate the record as a factor first.

Good test: if you've got a mono LP, try to record a song from that. If the levels are still off then at least you know that it's a hardware issue of some kind.

5. stetsonic

stetsonic Forum Resident

After that I would carefully re-check cartridge alignment and antiskate setting. If they are really properly set, could be a problem with the cartridge.

krisbee and Gaslight like this.
  6. seed_drill

seed_drill Senior Member

I used to do this, but with a Mac Mini he won't have a CD-Rom drive, and if you're going to buy one of those, you might as well buy a A/D converter instead.

7. Spirit Crusher

Spirit Crusher Forum Resident