How much effort do you put into album art for your digital files?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Pizza, Dec 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pizza

Pizza With extra pepperoni Thread Starter

Are you satisfied with what gets plopped in when you rip a CD or do you take extra steps? My wife used to not care if her files even had an image. Now she cares. Album Exchange was a nice discovery from posts I've read here but they don't have everything, most scans are great but a few of their scans fall short. Discogs is very hit or miss.

I've often scanned my own CDs. Right now I'm scanning all my CD singles and getting rid of the blurry, dark, grayish ones I've found online in the past. Being a digital artist, I'll go through great lengths re-assembling an album cover. I'll also creat custom art for stray tracks that get put together.

The poll allows multiple picks.

rbichamp, crispi, willy and 3 others like this.
  2. Curveboy

Curveboy Forum Resident

I google image search...works 90% of the time. Sometimes you have to crawl though the depths of the internet to find what you are looking for.

While I never had an issue with artwork showing on my iPod or Windows Phone, now that I'm on Android almost none of my art shows up.

3. ibanez_ax

ibanez_ax Forum Resident

I'm real anal about having the best quality cover art when I rip to JRiver. If the cover art is poor quality after a rip, I'll try to find a better image. I'll scan the cover as a last resort.

Maffune, hurple, andrewskyDE and 5 others like this.
  4. detroit muscle

detroit muscle MIA

I like to keep art as original as I can, but it's fun to have art like a turquoise Led Zeppelin I and a script Born To Run. I do like making my own art for hits or rarities compilations.

5. Khamakhazee

Khamakhazee Forum Resident

I do an image search and JRiver has it built in. I try and find 500x500 size or better but less than 500KB in size.

6. lemonade kid

lemonade kid Forever Changing