Black Sabbath Deluxe Editions January 22, 2016

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by The Hud, Dec 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. It's been so long since I've played the old WB. When I'm describing muddy maybe it's my perception that there isn't proposer, transparent high end for my taste and the antiquated A to D technology doesn't help matters. You're right, those just doesn't come close to the vinyl either. I no longer play LP's so I'm constantly trying to find the best digital version(s) and I'm happy with the 2012 remasters used for the 2016 releases. All in all the 2016 TE/NSD are brighter than the original WB but not too bright, at least to my ears. And they aren't nearly as fatiguing as the 2009 version. I think you'll like the new version too.

Tim1954 likes this.
  2. WhoDaresWins

WhoDaresWins Forum Resident

I'm going to order it soon. It is cheap on amazon. I have an earlier remaster but I might as well complete the deluxe edition set.

The only ozzy sabbath cd's i had previously were the Complete Albums box set. When the 2016 RM's were released I bought all of them within the first few days of release with no regret. I'm fine with these cd's and will be go to for listening purposes.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2017
    driverdrummer and The Hud like this.
  3. sandimascharvel

sandimascharvel Forum Resident

I definitely agree. My least favorite from the Ozzy-era, but a big improvement in clarity over the original WB.

My only 2016 complaints:

I wish Never Say Die 2016 had slightly more low end. But still better clarity than original WB. "Over To You" is the best sounding track and the bass sounds fuller than the other tracks. This track sounds so good that I have a newfound appreciation for it as Ozzy's melodies are great. Does the original LP lack as much low end in the other tracks? The original WB has a bit more low end.