If you could only visit one London record store - which one?

Discussion in 'Music, Movie and Hardware Store Guide' started by Dflow, Jan 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dflow

Dflow Listening in the time of Dylan Thread Starter

Planning a trip to London and will have limited time to track down the many record shops a Google search uncovers. I currently only have one in mind - Reckless Records - and that is because I have been shopping in their Chicago based shops for 25 years. Is that a worthy choice? I like Prince, Dylan, The Beatles, Jazz and alternative and while bargains are always top of mind a higher end quality find could make for a nice souvenir. All thoughts welcome and thanks in advance.

2. Telegramsam

Telegramsam Forum Resident

Reckless is right across the street from Sister Ray, so you can do both in one take. In my opinion there are better shops in London like Out on the Floor in Camden or Record Exchange in Notiing Hill but really the best place for vinyl in London is the Spitalfield Fair every 1st and 3rd Friday of each month at the Spitalfield Market near the Liverpool Station so if you´re there these dates I strongly recommend.

Dflow likes this.
  3. eric777

eric777 Astral Projectionist

I have not seen a real record store in a couple of years so whichever one I could find would be good enough for me.

Beaneydave likes this.
  4. Dr. Funk

Dr. Funk Vintage Dust

I have heard good things about Casbah Records.

5. backtomono74

backtomono74 Forum Resident

Reckless is definitely the best second hand record shop in central London - reasonable prices (median discogs pricing mostly) and good condition stock. I always come away with some good stuff on my visits. There are other good stores including the Record exchanges and the Flashback stores but I find their pricing to be a little inflated and the condition of their stock not as good / well looked after.