Why did Paul choose the Höfner violin bass in the early Beatle days?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by RickH, Feb 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RickH

RickH Connoisseur of deep album cuts Thread Starter

...instead of any number of other basses such as Fender, etc. Listening to some of those classic early recordings, one wonders what they might have sounded like with a more popular or common bass guitar brand. On "Doctor Robert", for example, the bass sounds a little wonky to me. (Please note that I've been listening to the Fab Four for well over 50 years, lifelong fan).

2. ChrisScooter1

ChrisScooter1 Forum Resident