“Octopus” by Gentle Giant: how did they come up with such a masterwork album within so little time?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by ParloFax, Feb 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ParloFax

ParloFax Senior Member Thread Starter

Their touring schedules were hectic as hell and all over the place - by then on both sides of the Atlantic - and they had even released another great album just a few months prior to that one!

So what I’m curious of is how they used to write at such a fast pace, and such highly complex material... They were a writing team of four then – the three Shulmans plus Kerry Minnear – but did they really write collectively, or was it instead, each of them came up with the written parts of his respective creation, and that’s it: we’ll go from there and rehearse, and the two non-reading guys (Gary Green and John Weathers) will learn their parts by ear? Because, I am not a musician, but to me the idea of “committee writing” sounds incompatible with being on the road constantly, THEN getting three weeks booked at Advision studios to knock an album... and an album such as “Octopus”!

I’ve been playing it on the road for a couple of days, and I think I like it even better still than in 1972! What an amazing collection of diversified songs it is! Sounds both polished and “funky”, what with the exciting drive and punch of drummer John Weathers... My favorite prog album!

dennis the menace and Pete Puma like this.
  2. pbuzby

pbuzby Senior Member

I read a bit about their writing process in a fanzine called Proclamation in the 90's. As I understood it, the "Shulman/Shulman/Shulman/Minnear" writing credit was like "Lennon/McCartney," not usually accurate. Generally Ray (sometimes with help from Derek) or Kerry wrote the music and then Phil wrote the lyrics. After Phil left, Derek wrote the lyrics, and also wrote the music himself sometimes.

3. ParloFax

That sheds some light, thanks!