Chicago area record stores past and present (with photos)

Discussion in 'Music, Movie and Hardware Store Guide' started by larry333, Mar 19, 2012.

1. saturdayboy

saturdayboy Forum Resident

you did!!! rose records on wabash was the gold standard in chicago. i was happy that tower took it over after it closed, but it was never as good.

2. pickwick33

pickwick33 Forum Resident

That was my spot, too. I was a student at Loyola University across the street, and was a regular customer from '85-'89. Until that fatal day in January 1990, when the upstairs department was closed for good. This is where their used record department was, and where I spent half my time at the store. I turned to the guy behind he counter (who I had gotten to know by then), and he had grumbled that the CD revolution caused Round to phase out their vinyl. By the next year they moved to a smaller space up the street (under the roof of the Flatts & Sharps music store), selling a modest selection of CDs and tapes. Another year after that and they were gone altogether. That was a great shop while it still existed, though. I still have to resist the temptation to walk inside whenever I pass the old Round building.

Hogues likes this.
  3. Hogues

Hogues Forum Resident

4. q89747

q89747 New Member

Greetings! Just found this thread and read all the way through it.

Whilst digging through my late father-in-law's records recently I came across one with a Swollen Head sticker on it. He was a one-time La Grangian. Unfortunately I don't think the pics will come through...