Do You Equalize?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Ron Scubadiver, Jan 30, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ron Scubadiver

Ron Scubadiver Forum Resident Thread Starter

Now I am a newb and you are an expert with all kinds of experience. You are full of insults and unsubstantiated claims. Just make it up as you go along. Your lack of credibility is extreme and you are not my mate.

Last edited: Feb 1, 2017
    bluemooze and Bill Mac like this.
  2. tim185

tim185 Forum Resident

Kapow. Ok. Seriously, that's cool. My approach can be brazen with this stuff because I've made all the mistakes. Carry on.

3. rodney sherman

rodney sherman Forum Resident

I use custom EQ settings on JRiver most of the time. I boost 28 Hz at plus 6 dB and I boost 16.5 kHz at 3.5 dB.

4. Kyhl

Kyhl On break

Whoa, 6db at 28hz? I hope you have a huge amp that can handle 200% greater power output down there compared to the rest of the frequency response.

I'm not anti EQ. Some people, rooms, and systems may need it but when needed it is much safer to cut rather than boost.

For the record, I use a 1 band parametric EQ on my sub to cut some output in one trouble spot. Otherwise, it's analog direct with no eq or tone controls to the mains.

5. matteos

matteos Stereotype

Digital... Signal.... Path....

Where do I drop it in? Between my record player and pre-amp?

6. Brian Barker

Brian Barker "No matter where you go, there you are"