Jaws on Home Video

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by svoegtlin, Apr 4, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. svoegtlin

svoegtlin Forum Resident Thread Starter

Jaws.. Perhaps the greatest of all summer blockbusters.. A film that I've personally watched and re-watched a million times. I noticed recently that I did not have it in my home video library.. In any format.

My question to you Hoffman-ites, which iteration of Jaws do you own? What's your favorite go-to home video version of Jaws (notice I didn't say best looking or sounding)?

2. Oatsdad

Oatsdad Oat, Biscuits, Abbie & Mitzi: Best Dogs Ever

3. Thievius

Thievius Blue Oyster Cult-ist

If you have blu-ray, go blu. Its not bad on Dvd, but the blu's are cheap anyway. I don't believe any of the blu-ray iterations have different masterings iirc.

4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

The blu-ray is perfect. Ironically I just watched it again for the first time in a couple years last night.

Previous to that I had the DTS-DVD version, the one that didn't have the mono soundtrack as an option. It was good at the time but the blu-ray is a great improvement.

MikaelaArsenault and audiomixer like this.
  5. Daniel Plainview

Daniel Plainview God's Lonely Man

I probably had it on VHS tape, though taped off the TV. Then I had the DVD for years. I sold my DVD when the new blu-ray came out. It looks absolutely fantastic now. I also have it on the VUDU so I can stream it whenever I get the urge, which is like once a week. I never tire of it.

I finally got the "Tales From Martha's Vineyard" book for Christmas. What an amazing document. A must own for any fan.

I also have the Funko Jaws action figures. And both versions of the shark (with and without bloody Quint).

It's no wonder Cape Cod is my vacation spot of choice. "Farewell and adieu to you fair Spanish ladies....."

6. Quadboy

Quadboy Forum Resident

I see from your review the extras are included.......plus a few more.