Why Does Mono Sound Bad To Me?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by A Saucerful of Scarlets, Apr 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

If there were people who actually "fetishize" mono, then I would expect those people would be mono-only, not listen to both mono and stereo and prefer mono versions of some albums. I think it would be far more accurate to say that the several people here who claim to actually hate mono are actually those who "fetishize" stereo. So I think it's actually pretty hypocritical to say that "some folks have a hard on for mono recordings" as if that's some big bad personality flaw that normal folks like you don't have.

Grant likes this.
  2. Pinknik

Pinknik Senior Member

I generally prefer stereo, but I don't think I'm particularly wound up about it. I own mono Beatles, Doors, Hendrix, Floyd. I do not dislike early 60s stereo mixes. I usually find them to be a charming relic of the era and more pleasing to my ears than their mono counterparts, in general.

I don't bemoan the fact that early Elvis is in mono. Seems perfectly natural to me.

Perhaps the fetishizing I note is more about folks that do seem to get bent out of shape, one way or the other, about the topic. I don't think they're bad people, it just strikes me as odd.

The idea of folding down Dark Side of the Moon to mono in search of some improvement strikes me as a weird thing. The idea of releasing a brand new album in mono strikes me as weird. Doesn't mean it shouldn't happen.

I like this place and I think most of us are looneys. I maintain that it is a fetish site, not that there's anything wrong with that.

3. The FRiNgE

The FRiNgE Forum Resident