Best New Albums of 2017 *

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Johnny Reb, Jan 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sprocket Henry

Sprocket Henry Forum Resident

My picks so far:

1. Robyn Hitchcock - S/T
    2. On Fillmore - Happiness Of Living
    3. Lawrence English - Cruel Optimism

I need more time to digest the Julia Holter, Grandaddy, Spoon, Tinariwen sets. Ah, time...

JoeRockhead likes this.
  2. segue

segue Psychoacoustic Member

22 year old Tash Sultana is a virtuoso self-taught multi-instrumentalist from Melbourne. She plays everything (a la Bill Nelson) by using loops and pedals live. A great guitarist, she's blowing minds opening for Santana right now in Australia. Her guitar influences include Hendrix & Prince.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
  3. segue

segue Psychoacoustic Member

Here's a live video of Tash

check out her guitar skills @ 9:45

KariK likes this.
  4. DLant

DLant The Upstate Gort Staff

No problem!

We just saw her live on Saturday in Ithaca, NY and she was excellent! If you get the chance, go see her!

noname74 likes this.
  5. jmj190

jmj190 Forum Resident

From the new Waxahatchee album, Out In The Storm - Silver

Released July 14th

6. Davey

Davey NP: CLARAGUILAR ~ Figura (2024)

But if it's not out for another 3 months, how can @CaseyJames be loving it for the last month? I guess these things happen :)

Lot of good stuff on the horizon.

7. TeleStrat

TeleStrat Senior Member

Some new ones I've heard so far...

Electric Moon - Stardust Rituals
    Dead Sea Apes - Sixth Side Of The Pentagon
    Samsara Blues Experiment - One With The Universe
    All Them Witches - Sleeping Through The War
    Electric Octopus - Chaotic Wavemaker

Davey likes this.
  8. Davey

I need that one, I've only heard the opener so far. I didn't think it was out until next month, must've got an early release since now they say Apr 10. Hmmm... looks like a pretty psych heavy year for you, I like it :)

9. TeleStrat