Budget Vintage Speakers: warmth with detail

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Phasecorrect, Apr 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phasecorrect

Phasecorrect Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey folks, seeking vintage 70s-90s loudspeakers that have a touch of warmth that doesn't obscure fine inner detail. In other words, something more towards nuetral than colored, with an open midrange, and controlled bass. I can forgo deep bass if the rest of the sonic picture is too my liking. I have limited experience: Large Advents (fairly clean deep bass, fried egg tweeter leaves a lot to be desired); Kef C55 ( flabby bass, boxey, muddy sound), etc. Spica tc 50s: incredible 3d imaging, however, no bass, overall veiled sound. Dq-10s, etc.

Contemplating:
    Klh 17
    Dynaco 25
    Jbl decade series
    Infinity jr monitors
    Polk monitor 7
    Boston A series

Anybody comment on my criteria vs speakers listed? Other suggestions?

On the higher end of budget project:

Vandersteen 1 b
    Magnepan smg

Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  2. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member

I'm a loudspeaker engineer, and must interject that speaker design has advanced tremendously since those vintage days. There were some good speakers then, but after decades of evolution it is possible to make overall better designs today. That doesn't mean that every modern speaker is better-ALL speakers are horribly inaccurate transducers-but top companies like KEF, B&W, JBL, etc etc would not agree that their old speakers are somehow "better."

Now, today you can get some cheaper speakers for instance the Klipsch smaller models, which however are not at all replacements for their back-in-the-day models. And today there are many tiny speakers which I feel have something missing from their sound, a kind of liveliness they do not possess. I *think* it is because of the physics of their tiny enclosures necessitating very low efficiency but that is just a hypothesis of mine.