How do I know that it's playing the SACD layer?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by afterm.ath, Apr 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. afterm.ath

afterm.ath my life! Thread Starter

I have a Samsung BD-D5100 that is said to play SACD, but I want to know if it's really playing the SACD. I don't hear much difference. I even turned on my TV to see what media it was playing, but it just said "CD". I don't know what is going on here. What must I do?

2. DigMyGroove

DigMyGroove Forum Resident

Read your manual, it will explain how to insure you play the SACD layer as the first priority over the CD layer. You might also find thise options on uour remote control.

Galley and audiomixer like this.
  3. TeacFan

TeacFan Forum Resident In Memoriam

Cannot find any SACD playing info on this model. Only lists 2 channel stereo output.

4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I looked up this model and see no reference to SACD in regard to it. I don't think I've ever seen a Samsung BDP that supported SACD. Look for Sony, Yamaha, or Oppo - those three brands make players that support SACD.

5. Litejazz53

Litejazz53 Perfect Sound Through Crystal Clear Digital

I double checked, what you have is an $89 player that does not play SACD's. I don't know if you are searching for a multi-purpose player that plays DVD, SACD, Blu-ray, etc. Not sure what you want, but Sony is really out of the SACD business now. You could probably find a Sony player that will play an SACD, but so many of the inexpensive players are converting the native DSD to PCM, a much downgraded process, just a means for the player to play the SACD. You want a player that plays native DSD with NO conversion to PCM and you need to research this, as the manufacturers that sell these cheap players don't disclose this. The OPPO players are quality players, but they are not cheap.

6. DrZhivago

DrZhivago Hedonist

Ha! Insert a single layer SACD and see what happens.