Looking for RCA Interconnect Upgrade

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by avanti1960, Apr 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mitsuman

Mitsuman Diamond Tone Junkie

Can you say irony? :laugh:

2. Mitsuman

You and I seem to be typically like-minded, but on this one I'm going to have to say I don't totally agree. My experience over the last 3-4 years has caused me to change my mind regarding IC's. Being an engineer, I was a staunch supporter of "wire is wire" and current flow is current flow. I now have certain interconnects that I pair with certain devices, especially CD players and preamps. Now I don't run $500+ IC's, and I think there is certainly a point of diminishing returns that occurs rapidly above a certain price point, but I am a believer in IC's making a difference.

3. wwaldmanfan

wwaldmanfan Born In The 50's

I'm not hiding anything. I've been a contributor to the Computer Audiophile forum for four years. I use the same screen name and avatar over there, and all my audio equipment is listed.

I have experimented with many different digital audio cables, analog interconnects, speaker cables, and power cables. I am convinced that boutique cables that sell for hundreds of dollars are a waste of money. You are better off spending your hard-earned cash on better components. YMMV, but you are not altruistic for recommending expensive cables to someone who does not know any better. Perhaps they make subtle differences on a five-figure system, but someone with that kind of equipment would not be asking anonymous strangers for blind recommendations here.

2012 MacBook Pro i5/8gb RAM/120gb SSD running OSX 10.9.5 and Audirvana Plus, Kimber Kable Cu USB, NAD M51 DAC/digital preamp, Kimber Kable Hero interconnects, NAD C 275 BEE stereo power amp, Furez 10AWG speaker cable, B&W CDM7SE speakers, Sennheiser HD 600 headphones, Tripp-Lite 14AWG SJT power cables.

quicksrt, RogerB, csgreene and 8 others like this.
  4. mreeter