Poll--The Weakest Link: Bob Dylan TIME OUT OF MIND, Round 1

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Joey Self, Apr 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NightGoatToCairo

NightGoatToCairo Forum Resident

I went for Love Sick :hide: and Highlands. I actually like Dirt Road Blues :shrug:

I don't enjoy this album as much as Triplicate, "Love And Theft" or Modern Times.

Please be gentle with me; I'm new to Dylan stuff x

2. CRadtke

CRadtke Forum Resident

Although I love Make You Feel My Love, I think that song doesn't fit in this album.

I bought it on the year of the release and this has been one of my favorite Dylan albums ever since. Loved from the start and I still love this album.

3. NightGoatToCairo

Note: I knew Bowie's cover of 'Tryin' To Get To Heaven' a long time before I heard the original.

4. majorlance

majorlance Forum Resident

Interesting! I think the rather "un-Dylan-like" production on "Love Sick" gets a wide range of reactions, though I believe it's one of the 3 best songs on the album (along with NDY and Highlands).

And while I'm definitely a fan of TOOM, there's no question in my mind that Dylan painted his latter-day masterpiece with Love & Theft.

NightGoatToCairo likes this.
  5. Dave Hoos

Dave Hoos Nothing is revealed

"Dirt Road Blues" and "Make You Feel My Love".

Both these songs are okay, but everything else on the album is either very good or great. Neither are memorable, and I generally skip both of them.

I bought the album around 2002-2003 (I know, I know), and I couldn't believe my ears when I played it. I think it's easily Bob's best since Blood On The Tracks, if not before. I play it at least once a month, usually in the car. I can never understand when I play it to someone and they'll say, "Yeah, it's okay", and I find myself thinking, "Can you not hear how ****ing great this album is? Seriously?"

It's easily in my favourite 5 Bob albums. Maybe even No.2 or 3. Absolutely love it.

6. goodboyfred