Best $500 or less cartridge for an AR-XB Turntable?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ego1jr, May 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ego1jr

ego1jr Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've been using an Audio Technica AT440MLa cartridge for several years and it's about time to either replace or upgrade. I'd prefer the upgrade route. I would really appreciate hearing from other forum members with suggested cartridge upgrades I can look at. I'd like to stay in the < $500 price range. I've enjoyed the AT440 however it tended to be a bit bright for my tastes.

Thanks in advance for all suggestions!

2. 6l6klipsch

6l6klipsch Forum Resident

MC or MM? I used a Denon DL-110 on my XA for a long time and really loved that cart. I've now moved to a 301MKII, and it is better in regards to detail, but in terms of value the DL-110 is hard to beat.

Bill Why Man and KT88 like this.
  3. cat9

cat9 Forum Resident

Have as main table an AR XB also and like D P above I use a Denon 301MKII

......love the cart!!

Not sure the match for your arm....I had the arm on my XB custom detailed for my 301.
    Also use a Benz Micro Gold......maybe a sale somewhere to get it in your budget.

Good luck!!

4. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

The AT is a good choice on that deck. If you want warm, the Shure 97 is excellent as well. Better you than me mounting and aligning on that thing! ;)
    -Bill

McLover and punkmusick like this.
  5. sfrost

sfrost Forum Resident

If you haven't had the arm upgraded I would be hesitant on using upper-tear cartridges. The DL110 is very good and would be an improvement over the AT 440.
    New Jewel bearings and dampening would help make the arm sound and track better.

Benzion and cat9 like this.
  6. PhxJohn

PhxJohn Forum Resident

Where are new jewel bearings available ?

7. Jelloalien

Jelloalien Stylus Genie

8. PhxJohn

PhxJohn Forum Resident