Frequency Response Contour Changed on Old Electronics?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 2xUeL, May 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2xUeL

2xUeL Forum Philosopher Thread Starter

I've been making needle drops for several years now using my Marantz 1090 integrated amp, and recently I noticed that my needle drops are much bassier than they were in the past. Occasionally this old amp does funny stuff where a channel might short out briefly but then it always comes back on again right away, so it does need to be serviced. So I'm wondering, can the frequency response of audio electronics change over time as the electronics get old and maybe start to wear out? @Tony Plachy, @chervokas?

2. McLover

McLover Senior Member

Electronic parts can and do drift out of tolerance with age, and this affects how your amplifier sounds. Your amplifier needs servicing.

The FRiNgE, 2xUeL and patient_ot like this.
  3. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

Probably old caps that need to be replaced.

Daily Nightly, The FRiNgE and 2xUeL like this.
  4. McLover

McLover Senior Member

Which do deteriorate with age. The originals are most likely bad, the way you describe the amplifier sounding is a major indication of the electrolytic caps going bad with age.

The FRiNgE, 2xUeL and patient_ot like this.
  5. The FRiNgE

The FRiNgE Forum Resident

Dirty switch contacts and jacks affect frequency response on a large scale. I am always amazed by the improvement when doing my standard service/ cleaning on an old piece of equipment. (I am a "deoxit-free" technician for the preservation of good OEM parts) Another problem can be out of spec electrolytic capacitors. Less common are out of spec resistors, even a slight drift of more critical bias resistors can affect frequency response/ dynamic headroom, etc.

2xUeL and McLover like this.
  6. McLover

McLover Senior Member