What does Steve Hoffman think of the new Beatles Sgt. Pepper remix?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by NGeorge, May 31, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. telepicker97

telepicker97 Got Any Gum?

Well, I'm speaking specifically about the 50th AV Sgt. Pepper, of which I have the 6 disc box and the 2 LP edition.

The LP* of the remix SMOKES the CD. AND the Hi-Res.

In this specific instance.

For your information.

*1/2 Speed Mastered @ Abbey Road in Deadwax, btw.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  2. AZRunner

AZRunner Forum Resident

I'd put more stock into what people who love surround think, like those at quadraphonicquad.com

John Bliss, pantofis, Jaap74 and 2 others like this.
  3. MichaelCPE

MichaelCPE Forum Resident

Those at quadraphonicquad.com are great for judging the surround mix, but I've found they are not very good at judging audio quality.

john morris, Lownote30, PDK and 2 others like this.
  4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

From what I gather from previous comments of Steve's, he's not a fan of remixes in principle. IIRC, he's somewhat more appreciative of the attempt to make new surround mixes, but he's not on board with stereo remixes. For him (and for many people) the original mix is THE mix, for better or for worse.

5. fluffskul

fluffskul Would rather be at a concert

i feel embarrassed to have to ask, but who is she?

6. Suzanna Hoffs. the Bangles.

7. pool_of_tears

pool_of_tears Searching For Simplicity

Damn!

8. bob60

bob60 Forum Resident

Oh dear. You wasn't expecting to hear that was you....:eek:

9. Indeed!

10. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite