Obscure & Neglected Female Singers Of Jazz & Standards (1930s to 1960s)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ridin'High, Sep 4, 2016.

1. Ethan Stoller

Ethan Stoller Well-Known Member

Anna Marie Genovese was a talented singer from Syracuse New York. She performed under the name "Anna Marie." Her lone LP was Interludes With Anna Marie, a 10-inch record on the obscure Vesta label. From the liner notes:

"Many vocalists can put 'life' in a song, but it is a rare treat to hear a vocalist combine this talent with a melodic voice. Her perfect control and delicate phrasing result in a rendition pleasing to everyone, and a definite thrill to critical admirers of vocal art.

"As a teenager, self-taught, Anna Marie was the winner on the Ted Mack Original Amateur Hour, and made guest appearances with Tommy Dorsey, Tex Beneke, and other name bands. She has sung in several clubs in New York City and throughout New York state, and last year was a successful contender on the nationally-televised Chance Of A Lifetime Show."

The liner notes don't mention the word "jazz" which is surprising, since the titular track "Interlude" (a.k.a. "Night In Tunisia") is a standard in the bebop canon, not the Broadway/Tin Pan Alley tradition. You can check out her jazz chops at this link, which has a bunch of cool, obscure tracks from this era: The Lonely Beat: One Hundred Themes from the Naked City

Here's another song from the Interludes record:

Anna Marie Genovese died in 2001.

2. Ridin'High

Ridin'High Forum Resident Thread Starter

Thank you both for indulging me. It's interesting to learn that the New York Times also reported the total number of recording as 80. And I agree that Goodman and many of the musicians he hired had a lot of experience recording in the studio.

There is a book that can give us the definitive answer. Called Benny Goodman: Listen to the Legacy, it's the definitive Goodman discography. Unfortunately, I don't have access to a copy at the present time.