Is there even an audience for new rock anymore?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Scott S., Jan 26, 2017.

1. Wombat Reynolds

Wombat Reynolds Jimmy Page stole all my best riffs.

I'll take that as a NO.

Let me know when you get into a band with 70 year old boomers and release an album and work the channels like you say and end up with a million seller.

BluesOvertookMe likes this.
  2. dmiller458

dmiller458 Forum Resident

I'm not a professional musician. And I was talking about a single, not an album.

3. dmiller458

I specifically said not to focus on CHR. IF they don't have to will to put in the effort, it definitely won't work.

4. Tristero

Tristero In possession of the future tense

Show me some success stories where bands of rockers in their late 6s/early 70s staged a significant comeback on the single charts like you describe.

Wombat Reynolds likes this.
  5. seed_drill

seed_drill Senior Member

Classic rock is an oldies format. They are not going to program anything that is not a well established hit from the 1990s or before. Stevie Nicks, who is a member of a group orders of magnitude bigger than BOC refused to do a new Fleetwood Mac album because sales numbers of a few hundred thousand units and non existent airplay would not be enough to warrant the headache being in a studio with Lindsey causes her. Lindsey and Christine made a nice album together, but I think they went into in with open eyes as far as it being a low key project.

EasterEverywhere and Tristero like this.
  6. Wombat Reynolds

Like I said. He's Eric Bloom, not only a long time professional musician, but arguably the leader of Blue Oyster Cult. I think he knows whats best for them and how to go about achieving it. You dont know that he has not considered everything you advocate, and discounted it for reasons that are his own.

I've seen those guys upwards of 10 times and would go again, new music or no new music.

7. Tristero