Ronnie James Dio in Black Sabbath

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Siegmund, Aug 1, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stax o' wax

stax o' wax Forum Resident

Hilarious!
    Considering the state Ozzy was reported to be in there was a lot of room for doubt.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2017
    BluesOvertookMe and dkmonroe like this.
  2. Tim1954

Tim1954 Forum Resident

Well, before Rhoads, reports were that Ozzy would be teaming up with Gary Moore, so I guess I never expected Ozzy to do as you did.

As an aside, Ozzy formed a band circa 1976/1977, and the guitarist was another whiz player (but more jazzy), Baz Dunnery from Necromandus. I didn't know about this until more recent years, but I don't think Ozzy was ever one to think he was going to leave from a band with Tony Iommi and not be ready for school.

Paulette, hi_watt and Efus like this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Sorry, I wasn't that tuned-in. All I knew was that Ozzy was booted for being a hopeless waste case, so I wasn't expecting much. I don't think that Ozzy and Gary Moore would have necessarily set the world on fire either - just having a good guitar player isn't a guarantee of success. Things have to come into place, and it's undeniable that things came into place remarkably well.

jay.dee and GodShifter like this.
  4. vamborules

vamborules Forum Resident

Well as great as he was, Gary Moore wouldn't really have worked as well either. I personally love his hard rock stuff, but he didn't have the writing ability that Randy had. I mean 'Rockin' Every Night' and 'Nuclear Attack'...awesome as they are they are no 'Crazy Train' or 'Over the Mountain' in the riff department. And then Diary of a Madman..forget it. Moore never would have come up with something like that. Plus let's face it, Gary Moore was not a good looking guy, and Randy Rhoads was.

Efus, jay.dee, Doggiedogma and 2 others like this.
  5. GodShifter