The Jazz Beat

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ken_McAlinden, Apr 27, 2015.

1. AxiomAcoustics

AxiomAcoustics "The enemy is listening"

:laugh: Yeah, those guys are just faking it. I'm not sure which version you found and know you're favoring vinyl but Elusive Disc has "a few copies left" of the fine Alan Yoshida XRCD and with the current sale it's about $24 and well worth it. Amazon has two new copies listed, one at $200, the other at $225.

WorldB3 likes this.
  2. AxiomAcoustics

3. AxiomAcoustics

Never heard of this label and was going to ask you if the name was due to a particular micing technique. Found out on their site that is it indeed. Intrigued by this, nice lineup of recording and monitoring gear but I'm unfamiliar with the musicians and at $40 per SACD it seems a bit premium priced for a trial. How would you describe the music?

4. Bachtoven

Bachtoven Forum Resident

I'm not a jazz expert, but it's quite upbeat--lots of swing. Here are some reviews: SA-CD.net - Joe McQueen & friends: Ten at 86

And here is some guy playing a track on his stereo and capturing it with a phone I assume! (At least you can hear the style.)

I paid $14.99--there are some around $18 now on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001SRQ2HE/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

AxiomAcoustics likes this.
  5. AxiomAcoustics

Stephen Gauci/Kris Davis/Michael Bisio: Three

Stephen Gauci: Tenor Sax
    Kris Davis: Piano
    Michael Bisio: Double Bass

Recorded June 17, 2008 by Marc Urselli, the engineer who is doing all the recording for the (somewhat) new Newvelle vinyl subscription label, and it's nicely rendered and presented. A touch more adventurous than the Giuffre/Bley/Swallow trio of yore but if you dig that kind of thing and are looking for something new this holds plenty to enjoy.

[​IMG]

Marzz and jiffypopinski like this.
  6. AxiomAcoustics