Good movies with bad endings.

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by metal134, Mar 20, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sparkydog

sparkydog Forum Resident

Did all of you who were confused by the end of 2001 prefer the ending of 2010 where the meaning was literally spelled out? I laughed out loud at that ending, after loving the rest of the movie.

[​IMG]

2. Rocker

Rocker Senior Member

Not many people seem to remember this, but there actually *was* an episode where the Coyote *did* catch the Roadrunner. It doesn't turn out the way he planned, of course, but I believe it was the only time in their history where he actually physically catches his prey.
    Soup or Sonic - Wikipedia

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

In the book, all three guys (Brody, Hooper, Quint) are basically jerks. It actually does make for a bit more drama as all three of them clearly hate each other, and yet they're going after this big-ass shark together. I suspect that it was Dreyfuss' personality that sold Hooper on being the "cool guy" of the bunch. I bet Benchley didn't intend for the trust fund kid to be the most likable guy on the team.

4. Rocker

Rocker Senior Member

Yeah, the book's ending is probably a lot more realistic, but nowhere near as exciting.
    And and doesn't the shark's death in the book also have something to do with the barrels? I seem to recall that, in addition to its wounds from gunshots and harpoons, it had also been swimming around for a while with several barrels attached to it, exhausting itself.

dkmonroe and Vidiot like this.
  5. Mark

Mark I Am Gort, Hear Me Roar Staff

"Tin Cup." He shoulda won......

6. It is rather on-the-nose, ain't it? Anyway, I just thought that there's be another movie where they would attempt a landing on Europa, with havoc ensuing. I mean, this is almost a provocation. :)

sparkydog likes this.
  7. daglesj

daglesj Forum Resident