SH Spotlight Recording and Mastering Questions---Answered here. Any more?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Steve Hoffman, Apr 20, 2006.

1. Darles Chickens

Darles Chickens New Member

Steve: do you think music would sound different if it was recorded at night instead of during the day? When I become good enough on the guitar to join a band I want to try a small experiment: I want to record at night...meaning between 10 pm and 2 am and I want to see if and how it affects the mood and atmosphere of the music. What you think about this? :)

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host Thread Starter

Makes no difference. Some of the best things ever recorded were done at 10 am like all the great music of the Big Band Era. The bands could only record in the morning. Great result.

3. acjetnut

acjetnut Senior Member

Personally for me, as a recording musician, I am a night person, so i tend to do it mostly then. I especially have trouble with vocals in the morning, perhaps a day of talking gets them more in shape.

4. acjetnut

acjetnut Senior Member

At this point, it's mostly to hard drive's. A lot of big studios back up master mixes of digital recording onto 15ips analog tape, however.

5. acjetnut

acjetnut Senior Member

Steve, what is it about CD's that makes them lose the "warmth" of vinyl? Is it eq choices? Does vinyl add it's own sonic signature to the music? Is 44.1/16 recording just not enough?

6. Darles Chickens

Darles Chickens New Member

Steve can answer your question much better than me but here is my point of view: from what I was told by people who have measured this, most vinyl masters hardly contain much information above 17 kHz. From this you can deduce that it is partially the absence of ultra high frequencies that give vinyl its warmer sound.

7. Steve Hoffman

Mastering choices.

Chooke and Batears52 like this.
  8. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!