Audio-Technica AT-LP120 Preamp Removal (Detailed Instructions Video)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by FrankieP, May 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. draden1

draden1 Forum Resident

Thanks for the suggestions, I am going to try that protractor linked a couple posts back and see if that makes a difference. I'll report back what I find.

2. Jam757

Jam757 Forum Resident

I would rate the sonic upgrade of the pre-amp removal a 10 out of 10. It was not the least bit subtle and the smartest thing I ever did with my system.

3. picassoson

picassoson Forum Resident

I'm not good at mechanical stuff, but gave this a try - and ended up ruining my turntable... so I just bit the bullet and bought a refurbished Technics SL-1200MK5.

One of these days I'll probably try and open up the hood again, and undo the damage. I actually didn't mind the sound of the internal pre-amp... even though I know the EQ rolled off the top-end and probably boosted the mid/low end. I actually personally prefer that kind EQ, but now have the option to control it a little more with my Marantz receiver.

vince2398 and luithbert like this.
  4. guidedbyvoices

guidedbyvoices Old Dan's Records

What did you do wrong that ruined the turntable? Your lesson learned could help someone else thinking of trying it.

5. guidedbyvoices

Did you try bypassing the internal preamp and using an external preamp first? My experience was bypassing and using a schiit mani was an 8 out of 10 bump, removing the internal a 3 out of 10.

6. picassoson

picassoson Forum Resident

You can see what I did here:

At-pl120 Preamp removal

I think I cut the wrong wires, and then when I tried to re-solder them my solder job may not have been great. In my turntable there was an extra board connected to the pre-amp which I'm still not sure what the hell it did. I can get sound out of the turntable now, but there is terrible distortion and playback is at a really low volume.

7. guidedbyvoices