Ripping CD's - Is iTunes good enough?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by colby2415, Oct 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rockin_since_58

rockin_since_58 Forum Resident

I have been ripping CD's in iTunes Lossless for a long time and have not had any problems. I have tried all the various other programs and services and for me, iTunes just works and sounds best. I do use Amarra sQ+ as the sound engine for iTunes. It is hard to near impossible to beat iTunes library management.

2. ThmsFrd

ThmsFrd Forum Resident

Seriously, I really don't know you guys manage to have so many problems with iTunes. When it's not CD ripping, it's synchronization, or iTunes Match, or whatever update that just messed up with whatever thing... I've been using it for 10 years without any problem I didn't created myself.

3. Balthazar

Balthazar Forum Resident

I didn't care for EAC, and quickly switched to dBpoweramp. It's pretty painless to use and only costs $39 per computer.

dBpoweramp Music Converter - mp3 converter, FLAC, WAV, AAC & Apple Losslesss. Free 21 day trial, download & convert

As far as iTunes, no idea. Never used it for much of anything unrelated to my phone.

I bet you'd get much different answers to your question on the Apple forum. I'd guess a bunch of people there would tell you it's fine, assuming anyone on an Apple forum even bothers ripping CDs anymore. Like everything, you decide how crazy you want to get with all this stuff.

If you want easy but crazy, try dBpoweramp.

ShallowMemory and Sevoflurane like this.
  4. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member