Elton John Vinyl Reissues

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Sunsales, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Greg Carrier

Greg Carrier Senior Member

My copy of Tumbleweed Connection is beautiful. Flat and quiet. My cartridge looks stationary when I'm playing it, just the way it's supposed to be. And I'm no Elton expert, but it sounds great to me.

2. Vinyl Dude

Vinyl Dude Well-Known Member

GRRRR!!!! With all these glowing reviews I'm seeing on the new EJ reissues, and the fact that I have YET to acquire any of them, I feel SO DARNED behind in the game! I've already got so many other cool new/recent or reissue vinyl releases high up on my wishlist (plus re-buying new copies of albums I was forced to sell off last year), and just not enough moolah to spend on them! I especially wanna get "Caribou" and SFTWC (since that one was never released on wax the first time 'round). Unfortunately, it's gonna be awhile before I can get around to ANY of them.... :shake:

3. JamesRR

JamesRR Trashcan Dream

Second copy of Blue Moves - still has surface noise on Side 1. Must be a bad batch from Amazon.

And they accidentally gave me two sleeves for disc 1, instead of the sleeve for disc 2. Bad QC there. So this one goes back.

Has anyone who has purchased in Europe had an issue - I might buy from there since it's a different lot of pressings.

Achn2b likes this.
  4. Darrin Crawford

Darrin Crawford Forum Resident

Finally, I get around to reviewing this.
    One of my fav Elton John albums, Blue Moves.
    I remember vividly getting this way back in December 1976 for Christmas. That was a HUGE Christmas year for me. Record Player with separate speakers that lite up, K-Tel album, Tumbleweed Connection and this awesome Blue Moves.
    I have to admit, even as a 9 year old I heard a big difference in the songwriting compared to the flashy type EJ hits I was used to.