Best way to clean a needle...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by lucan_g, Oct 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lucan_g

lucan_g Forum Resident Thread Starter

... advice needed. Some dust/lindt seems to be lodged. I've tried a 'Magic Eraser'... but it's not totally doing the job and I fear applying any more pressure (I may have done too much already).

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to care/maintenance. Should I buy some other needle cleaning device? Or what is the preferred strategy?

Thanks for advice.

2. PhilBiker

PhilBiker sh.tv member number 666

3. Soundman

Soundman Senior Member

ZERODUST-ONZOW

4. Sgt Pepper

Sgt Pepper Forum Resident

I believe it is not recommended for certain types/makes of stylus/cartridge due to it's ability to possibly loosen the cement used to hold the diamond tip in place.

AmericanHIFI and lucan_g like this.
  5. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

Don't be afraid to drag it across the stylus in the direction the record travels, straight away from the cartridge. If that doesn't clean it, then you must have something sticky on there that has trapped the dust in place. You'll need to dissolve that. Be super careful, but use a small drop of alcohol on a tissue and try and wipe it away, just as you did with the ME. Then follow-up with the ME brushing again. Only use enough alcohol to soak the stylus, not the whole cantilever. Try again if it doesn't work, but you do need to be careful with any solvent as it could dissolve the glue that bonds the stylus if you allow it to soak too long. Just be quick and thorough.

This is why we clean our records.
    -Bill

6. lucan_g

lucan_g Forum Resident Thread Starter