Petition launched to reintroduce Technics turntables (Update: The SL-1200 is Back!)*

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by englishbob, May 27, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnny q

johnny q Forum Resident

So my Technics SL-M3 has risen from the dead, so I am not pulling the trigger on the 1200G just yet, but as you will find out when they reply to you - I certainly could have!!!! :) Unless things have changed in about 1 weeks time...ya never know.

PhilBiker likes this.
  2. MadCajun

MadCajun Forum Resident

Cool, thanks!!!

johnny q likes this.
  3. MadCajun

MadCajun Forum Resident

Outstanding! I'm on the list for one scheduled to arrive at the end of the month, looking forward to getting it. I've been using my current table since 1984-85 and I need another that will take care of me for the next ## of years.

johnny q, Robert C and recstar24 like this.
  4. SamS

SamS Forum Legend

Which model?

5. Classicrock

Classicrock Senior Member

You need to listen to some expensive TTs. Whatever quality a pressing, improvements in arm cartridge and deck design improve sound and if done right will actually make pressing flaws less intrusive. I don't know if minor mods to an SL12oo make night and day improvements but the new designs should as they actually have little in common with mark II to VI. Apart from some really badly mastered or seriously flawed LPs each improvement I have made to analogue front ends over the years has resulted in better SQ and a more enjoyable listening experience. So better decks are not 'too good' for well cared for old pressings in general.

recstar24 and FashionBoy like this.
  6. MadCajun

MadCajun Forum Resident

The 1200GR

recstar24, johnny q and Robert C like this.
  7. RPM

RPM Forum Resident

Are the GAE and G lids the same in color? Can you tell if the lid is black or blue tinted? GR is not tinted, but transparent, as I can see.

8. DPM

DPM Senior Member