Do you have a preferred Bowie era?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by warewolf95, Oct 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. warewolf95

warewolf95 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Just curious, I've been discovering Bowie for a few years now and I've found I really enjoy almost every album for the most part.

I just haven't connected at all with the Ziggy albums aside from a few tracks here and there. For whatever reason those albums just aren't my cup, ya know? I'm sure I'll come around eventually.

I've always had a strong preference for the Eno trilogy and also the 90's-00's albums.

I've recently been really digging Never Let You Down (despite it's flawed quality).

Singles aside, Tonight, Scary Monsters and Let's Dance are all a toss up for me so far.

I've gotten REALLY into the Reality album in the last few days and can't stop playing it. Anyone dig this album?

Basically, I'm digging Bowie lately and just feel like chatting about him. :)

2. lightbulb

lightbulb Not the Brightest of the Bunch

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders From Mars
    !

Why?
    With such incredible tracks as:
    Hang Onto Yourself
    Ziggy Stardust
    Suffragette City

...which are chock full of slashing crunching guitar riffs, courtesy of Mick Ronson.

Also one of the best "sequencing of 3 rock songs", anywhere, any album!!!

Honorable Mention:
    Starman, Moonage Daydream, Star, and It Ain't Easy, are close follow ups.

It's a perfect album representing a great Bowie era.

Last edited: Oct 11, 2017
    Tanx, Frosst, Galactus2 and 3 others like this.
  3. RockRoom

RockRoom I Love My Dog

I love all of Bowie's 1970's output, but have a soft spot for The Thin White Duke.

GodShifter, Evan L, Merrick and 4 others like this.
  4. the pope ondine

the pope ondine Forum Resident

hunky thru alladin.....
    wait , Ziggy albums plural? which ones do you consider ziggys, that might be my pick

5. willy

willy hooga hagga hooga

Ditto :wave: