Jackie Gleason Color 1960s shows from Time-Life

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by MarkTheShark, Oct 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarkTheShark

MarkTheShark Senior Member Thread Starter

The Jackie Gleason Show on DVD Available now in Color from TimeLife - Time Life

This one caught me off guard. I'm not an expert, but it looks to me like this could be a comprehensive set of all the non-Honeymooners shows from the last three seasons (the Miami years). And yes, those Honeymooners "shorts" are included.

As is part of the playbook these days, there are two versions of this set, the regular one and the deluxe one with a boatload more stuff. But in this case, the bigger set just combines the 1960s color Gleason shows with the 1950s Honeymooners Lost Episodes, which already have a set of their own.

Pretty cool, I never thought these would be released.

nikh33, Keith V, ted321 and 1 other person like this.
  2. Vidiot

Vidiot Now in 4K HDR!

"The Miami Beach audience... is the greatest audience... in da world!"

3. James Slattery

James Slattery Forum Resident

As with any variety show release, I wait to hear about music cuts before I buy. The hour Red Skelton Shows as an example are hacked to bits.

4. The Panda

The Panda Forum Mutant

"Sam..........That Jacket...is so ugly............."

5. Splungeworthy

Splungeworthy Forum Rezidentura

Always liked the overhead shot of the June Taylor dancers.

6. Benno123

Benno123 Forum Resident

Received my set yesterday, started watching some today ... so far the June Taylor Dancers have been cut out of the ones I have watched.

7. Michael

Michael I LOVE WIDE S-T-E-R-E-O!

outta reach for me...

8. Michael

are they serious?! Damn...

cloggedmind likes this.
  9. Vidiot

Vidiot Now in 4K HDR!

I'm guessing the music rights may have forced them to excise those segments.

10. Mirrorblade.1

Mirrorblade.1 Forum Resident

I hate music rights some get some friggen greedy..