Owner of Jerry's Records (Pittsburgh) sells store

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by npc210, May 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doc021

doc021 Forum Resident

When I was a student at Pitt (mid 80s), I was a frequent visitor to Jerry's as the name moved from Record Graveyard, Garbage records, Jerry's. The original store was located above a Burger King (I believe) on Forbes Ave in the Oakland section of Pittsburgh. It was not very big but there were records literally everywhere and you could spend a whole day going through the bins. All genres. Walk in with $10 walk out with 3 albums and some change. I still have them all. The thing that I most remember is that you would walk up to Jerry or (at the time) Wayne, give a few lyrics or bars of a song whose title was unknown to you and either one would spit out the title, artist and album within seconds of hearing you. The two of them were like the original Shazam or any other music identifying app.

2. vinylbuff

vinylbuff Forum Resident

I was a regular at Jerry's in Squirrel Hill. I used to show up at Heads Together when they had the small place in the building where Jerry's is. It was street level, and then they moved to the "Underground Mall. " "King Larry" and their all night sale the first Saturday of the month. Any three single lps in the store for $6.99...... pipes, papers, posters, waterbeds
    I didn't see anybody mention Flo's Records on Bouquet St in Oakland, or Lew's Virgo Shop on Forward Ave. in Squirrel Hill........ or am I just that old???:yikes:

BTW......Any of you Northsiders remember a small stereo store in Allegheny Center Mall back in the mid to late 70's. I've been trying to remember the name of that place like forever...
    Oh, and PJ McArdle and the Pittsburgh Record Shows.

pghmusiclover likes this.
  3. kevin5brown

kevin5brown Analog or bust.

Sounds and Seeds in Monroeville. :D

4. schwarcw

schwarcw Forum Resident