Turntable upgrade: Rega Planar 3 or Pioneer PLX-1000

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by punkmusick, Jan 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. punkmusick

punkmusick Amateur drummer Thread Starter

I've been using a Pro-ject Debut Carbon for five years now. I'm currently using a Nagaoka MP-110. I'm now experience three issues related to TT-cartridge:

- motor hum from the turntable. This is a famous problem of this TT. I managed to reduce it and it's only audible if I stay very close to the TT and not at all if I use headphones. So I can live with that but I know it's there.

- electronic hum. I also managed to reduce it to a level I can only hear it if I crack up with no record playing. The volume level I use is not enough for the hum to appear. With headphones however I can hear that every time music stops. I can also live with that but it annoys me more than the motor hum.

- lack of high frequencies. This is the main problem. My cartridge is well known for very good bass and middle, which I experience and enjoy, but also for a top end roll-off. When playing along with guitars with distortion, hi hats and cymbals simply disappear in some songs and are very subtle otherwise. As a drummer myself this bothers me so much. I have the same problem if I use the internal phono stage of the integrated. The same integrated playing digital has no problem. So it must be the TT-cartridge and most likely the cartridge. I know some roll-out the highs is reported as a signature of vinyl records but I heard samples and full needledrops that are much better.

This tells me that I need to change the cartridge and look for a more flat reproduction. I appreciate any advice.

But I keep thinking that maybe it is also time to get a new TT that could better handle this upcoming new cartridge.