Ortofon 2m red to blue upgrade

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Craig Spiegel, Sep 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clonesteak

Clonesteak Forum Resident

I finally pulled the trigger!!! I ordered up a 2M Blue and should have it soon. I have been putting off the upgrade due to music over gear.
    I have been enjoying the Red for a couple of years and will demote the Red stylus to a spare if heaven forbid a mishap with the Blue.
    I know I am late to the party but will share my initial impressions later on next week.

Kristofa, Maccaroni, c-eling and 2 others like this.
  2. Minty_fresh

Minty_fresh Forum Resident

For me I didn’t notice (other than lack of IGD) until after I switched back to the red. Then it’s quite noticeable.

punkmusick and cmcintyre like this.
  3. punkmusick

punkmusick Amateur drummer

These cartridges are the same and the difference is just the stylus? If I use a Blue stylus in a Red cartridge, would it sound the same as the Blue/Blue?

Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  4. Isaac K.

Isaac K. Forum Resident

Correct. That’s what I did.

punkmusick likes this.
  5. BIGGER Dave

BIGGER Dave Forum Resident

Been using a 2M Blue with my VPI Scout for about a year. Been waiting on a Bronze or Black MassDrop deal however it looks like it may never come. May have to order through Thakker in Germany.

6. punkmusick

Seems like you didn’t return here to say if you finally noticed any improvement after break in. Did you?

7. clhboa

clhboa Forum Resident

I've been noticing the same thing with the Red on my Debut III. Now I'm going to want to buy the Blue. Dammit! How is the Blue with surface noise? The Red tends to downplay noise on most(but not all, some are noisier) records compared to my 2M Black on my 1210.

Clonesteak likes this.
  8. weavzy

weavzy Needle Dropper