New Paul McCartney album "Egypt Station" coming September 7, 2018*

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by etcetera, Feb 2, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maccawings

maccawings Senior Member

I agree with you but unfortunately the person who matters does not

2. maccafan

maccafan Senior Member

It's time to shake it up a lot!
    I've been saying this, I really have been saying this for the last twenty years! I think a solid DECADE dedicated to the same audience is long enough! McCartney has given them three!

3. revolution_vanderbilt

revolution_vanderbilt Forum Resident

Make it an even five and then maybe move on.

4. maccafan

maccafan Senior Member

I'd absolutely hate such an album!

If I produced McCartney, first off I'd go get a real producer that understood real rock and roll!

None of this sensitive melancholy deep soul searching stuff. I'm taking McCartney back to the spirit of his roots! I'd do my best to remind McCartney of what got him excited about making music in the first place!

Then I'd make sure that McCartney was recording with his band, because I want his album to have as much power and punch as possible, I want it to come blasting out of the speakers! I want it to rock! I also want some of those fantastic McCartney ballads, because no one writes them better, but the majority of the album would be more uptempo! I'd get McCartney to use his band more, especially in the singing area. I'd really feature the background singing and harmonies, I'd even encourage McCartney to let his band members co-lead on some songs. McCartney could play any instrument except drums, I want Abe's thunderous kicks backing the songs. McCartney would handle all bass playing! The Hofner would be off limits, it doesn't record well, sounds too muffled. the Rickenbacker would be the bass of choice!