New vinyl that is the same as the loudness war CD, but people think sounds better

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by dlokazip, Mar 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lemonade kid

lemonade kid Forever Changing

It’s marginally better on vinyl. Very marginally. And fatiquing on both.[/QUOTE]
    I do wish Giles had taken less artistic license. Minimalist is best (a la Steve Hoffman).

BDC likes this.
  2. marcb

marcb Senior Member

It’s marginally better on vinyl, IMO. Very marginally. And fatiquing on both.

NorthNY Mark and dobyblue like this.
  3. Dennis Metz

Dennis Metz Born In A Motor City south of Detroit

Delusional :cheers:

4. lemonade kid

Yes. I do apologize and get what you are saying now. I have no knowledge to impart on the like of digital vs vinyl, (when it comes to how they were recorded or mixed or more tech-y stuff) generally. And I appreciate input from those who can give me further insight, and just for fun the subjective opinions that give me a smile.

Cheers from an "old timer",
    LK

uzn007 likes this.
  5. Mr_Vinyl

Mr_Vinyl Forum Resident

Yes, if the original recording was bad, not much can save it. On a side note, the Opeth records are nothing (in the positive sense) like the cd's.

6. Vocalpoint

Vocalpoint Forum Resident

That's why I said "Singular ultra rare cases excepted of course"

There are specific releases that miraculously get a unique master - per physical release type - but that is not the norm.

I checked out the Roger Waters a while back - the CD and download are identical

See here...read the comment section

Album details - Dynamic Range Database

VP

7. DPM

DPM Senior Member

Lyra cartridges and Parasound phono preamps aren't known for warming things over.

8. agaraffa

agaraffa Senior Member