Too many turntables, too little time...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by KT88, Apr 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KT88

KT88 Senior Member Thread Starter

I have been collecting records for around 40 years now. I have about five thousand that I keep in reserve for play. I also run a record shop / hi-shop / guitar shop, and I have thousands more there to sell. I don't buy too many records anymore as I really don't have room to store or time to listen to them all, but sometimes, you know, I find this or that awesome record that just has to come home with me. They are like puppies, irresistible.

OK, so that brings me to my next "problem". I have too many freakin' turntables as well. Due to being a hi-fi nut, I always have at least one, usually two: one in play and one on the bench for some reason to satisfy my itch for better, newer, more vintage, different, whatever sound. Last night I tried out this sweet Rega RP8 with Ania cartridge. I spun some new record acquisitions, Howling Wolf, Link Wray, and some vintage LA punk / new wave stuff. That last one I have had for years and just spotted it in my collection while looking for something else to play. My wife commented that she hadn't heard that in years. She also liked the Link Wray best. I learned from the back of the Lp cover that Link was a VA resident for many years and played in bands along the waterfront in Norfolk VA. I am a VA boy, so that was a fun fact.