CDs over LP/records assessment - a must watch for experts and beginners

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by raimiz1991inc, Apr 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. raimiz1991inc

raimiz1991inc Forum Resident Thread Starter

First off, I realize there are literally hundreds of threads discussing which format is better and, honestly, I think it's pointless to come up with an answer and annoy members with the same old question and stir things up, so this is not my intention by creating this thread.

Long story short, I've been buying and collecting CDs ever since I was ten years old and my passion for them continues to this day. This forum has been, and still is, an essential part of my life and music experience because of you guys and everything you/we have to say about sound quality and all the different pressings and the ultimate guide for searching for the "perfect" pressing in the greatest format. But I must admit, I never really 100% understood why most people nowadays prefer records over CDs when this wasn't the case 15 to 20 years ago, I mainly chalked it to nostalgia and the beautiful big artwork accompanied by the ritual of placing the record and the needle and the whole physical experience. Personally I was ready to compromise record collecting, the fairly similar ritual compared to listening to it CD counterpart and everything it entailed (from record maintainance and cleaning to replacing the stylus, etc) and of course its alleged superior sound in favor of continuing my CD collection which I am perfectly happy with and satisfied with its sound quality, at least of most of them.

Last year my girlfriend gave me two, restored to mint condition, Phil Collins LPs as an anniversary present even though I don't have a turntable to play them on. Those were my first records and I was overwhelmed with the art and the LP jackets and presentation, even though I had those same albums three times on CD.