The best versions for each David Bowie album?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Haristar, Jul 10, 2017.

1. MicSmith

MicSmith Forum Resident

Although I knew most of Bowie's '69-'80 work having borrowed a friend's vinyl collection and taped them when I was a student, Scary Monsters aside, which I won in a competition, it wasn't until the Ryko/EMI reissues that I decided to buy them. By then the RCA CD releases were long out of print and if I remember this correctly, it was reported that Bowie wanted it that way because of them not coming from approved masters - Bowie experts please correct me on this. So the Rykos were my introduction to these albums proper, ignoring my SM vinyl and tapes of everything from Ziggy to Lodger. For that reason I never hear the deficiencies in the Rykos that get reported on here and I love most of the bonus cuts. I was gutted though when it dawned on me that Holy Holy wasn't the real deal! Having bought most of his catalogue several times since (the Anniversary sets and box sets in the main) I'm not that desperate to own the RCAs to be fair and therefore will never offer any opinion on them other than what I recall being reported on them at the time they dried up around '87.

I don't have the '99 remasters except for HD which I picked up for £3, mainly because I was happy with what I had and they contained nothing new (and in most cases less than the Ryko editions) and again with at least 2 or 3 copies of almost every album in his catalogue I don't have the inclination to track these down to offer an opinion on them. I suppose the people that really don't care for them had bought earlier pressings on vinyl and CD and I can understand them saying negative things about them if they didn't equal or surpass what they already have. I feel the same about music that I first heard on vinyl and which subsequent remasters come nowhere near to matching. So I readily take those opinions on board