The SugarCube Is Here At Last...Clicks & Pops R.I.P.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DigMyGroove, Nov 12, 2017.

1. 56GoldTop

56GoldTop Forum Resident

I've watched/heard others use it with outstanding results. However, I do not want to go down that rabbit hole. With software that powerful, I would be sorely tempted to "re-master" my vinyl; go way beyond removing clicks and pops, and way beyond what is necessary, likely ruining the whole reason (mastering, sonic presentation, etc.) why I sought out the album in the first place. Lol. I do IT for a living. I do not want to invest hours and hours at home in front of a monitor. I just want the most egregious clicks and pops gone while listening and enjoying the music. Besides, I'd be going for the Advanced RX 6 version, which I believe is about 1200 bucks. For the convenience, I'll throw in the extra just to be able to push a button. Plus, with an appliance, I'm not locked in. The recording can be raw with blemishes galore. If a better way to skin the cat comes along (say SugarCube SC-7 MKIII with built in 32/384 A/D/A), all I have to do is change the appliance/trade up (seems easier to resell/trade hardware than software); because, I have made no destructive edits. Granted, I could keep two high res files (or two CD-R's) one raw and one repaired); but, why would I do that? Again, that takes away the ease of slappin' the record on the platter or the DVD-R with hi res files in a UDP or the CD-R in a transport or player or whatever.... ...and then just hit a button.

Panama Hotel likes this.
  2. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

You're overthinking it. I just set it at a reasonable setting and let it do all the work while I listen to music. Sounds fantastic. No rabbit hole or tons of wasted hours experimenting necessary. Up to you, really. No need to for the ultimate edition either.

3. 56GoldTop

56GoldTop Forum Resident