Need a metatag program for Mac

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Guy Gadbois, Jun 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Guy Gadbois

Guy Gadbois Chief Inspector Thread Starter

I'm having problems using Perfect Tunes on my Mac.

Since I'm new to the Mac world I'm wondering if there is another program that will easily allow me to tag WAV files. Help!

2. Rolltide

Rolltide Forum Resident

I thought WAV files couldn't be tagged?

At any rate, Music Brains Picard for Mac is free and great.

Steve Martin likes this.
  3. Guy Gadbois

@Rolltide Yes you can tag them, at least I could in Windows. I did a bunch of them last week. Thanks

4. superstar19

superstar19 Authentic By Nature

I don't think the WAV format allows for embedding of tags in the files. I know Windows programs (like Mediamonkey and foobar among others) will allow you edit tags with WAV files, but I think it is handled outside of the WAV format standard and not recommended if you are going to be using different music software or different devices to manage your music. FLAC or ALAC are a couple of the lossless formats that allow embedded tagging.

5. Guy Gadbois

@superstar19 So I'd have to change the files to FLAC in order to tag them on a Mac?

6. Guy Gadbois

The Mac world is so frustrating. I used Windows for 25 years and switched to Mac. Just last week I tagged a load of WAV files, added artist, album, song, etc.

I just tagged a bunch of WAV files using Music Brains, saved them, and when I plugged them back into my Node they weren't listed under artist.

7. superstar19

The WAV tagging issue is not a Mac issue, it's with the WAV format. Windows seems to have some work-arounds for it, but I know in the past they didn't as I lost info on a bunch of live Zep shows I had in WAV format that I previously tagged, but then lost when I switched to Media Monkey.