Need help with system setup - Mcintosh equipment

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Waylon9, Aug 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Waylon9

Waylon9 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Okay, I am not an expert. Just need some thoughtful help. First I have
    infinity kappa 8 speakers,
    Mcintosh C28 preamp,
    Mcintosh mc-300 power amp,
    and two definitive technologies subs.
    I also have an older teac equalizer.

I have turntables and reel tape decks too but I’m hoping they aren’t impacting this issue.

I run my subs rca out of the preamp.
    I run my kappa 8s out of amp at 2 ohms.

One complication is that I use an Audiocubics remote volume controller through which all sound is controlled other than subs (running directly out of preamp)

So what is my problem? Probably my setup. Not sure. But I like my music really loud. I’ve been in a band for years so loud distortion free audio is what I want. Perhaps this is a simple issue, but my Mcintosh amp is constantly using the “power guard” feature I suppose because I run it so dang loud.

Questions
    1 - do these infinity’s need a more powerful amp? In other words is it dangerous to continue to hit that “power guard” feature on MC-300?
    2 - does the Audio Cubics remote complicate my situation?
    3 - I know equalizers aren’t popular, but dang this EQ does wonders for the sound. Could it be the issue?

Please ask any and all questions. I am not lucky to even have set this stuff up. I am a novice. Thanks!!!

2. Rolltide

Rolltide Forum Resident

The power guard feature should not be engaging merely because of loud volume. Does it still happen if you run the amp directly off the preamp without any electronics in the chain?

3. deadcoldfish

deadcoldfish Senior Member

Your speakers drop to a 2 ohm load at 90Hz, and this is more than likely the cause of the power guard protection on the MC-300. You'll need an amp that can handle that low impedance.

McLover likes this.