Bookshelf speakers for studio apt.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by resonantFrequency, Sep 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. resonantFrequency

resonantFrequency Active Member Thread Starter

Hello, noob here. I'd like some advice on selecting bookshelf speakers.

Budget: $500. Can stretch up to $1000 if there will be a significant improvement in sound quality.

History: My current speaker is Mackie CR3. I thought it did a decent job for the price. But it's broke now, and this time I'd like to make an informed decision and buy something much better.

Space: Live in a very small studio 24 x 10. Couch is on the long side of one wall and TV is on the opposite side.
    My room doesn't share a wall with neighbors, so I can crank up my volume to an extent.

Requirements/Usage:
    Primary usage is music streamed from Spotify through my 4k TV. I watch quite a bit of movies/tv shows.
    Occasionally I watch blu-ray through Xbox.
    I'm more interested in the quality of the sound, build and longevity than any fancy features.

Some contenders:
    Going by anecdotal experiences of users here, I have these in mind. But I've never listened to any of these before and have no particular preference.

Klipsch RP-160M
    Epos m12 (used 400)
    Wharfedale Denton 80th Anniversary (500)
    KEF Q350

For my case, what would you recommend?
    Also, should I buy an amp?

Thanks!

2. bmoregnr

bmoregnr Forum Rezident

Hi and welcome. Just so I am hearing you right, you had powered monitors before, and you are now thinking about passive bookshelf speakers? If passive you'd need an amp unless you already have one or I am missing something. If so does that change your budget?

3. jdsher

jdsher Forum Resident

What are you running your source through, an AV receiver? Also, is the reason for bookshelf speakers because of space concerns? Is there a sub-woofer now? I am wondering if you might be happier with a floor stander ie ELAC?
    Jon