Grading Issue?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by cporcp, Sep 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cporcp

cporcp Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey there - this is bugging me - some input would from the collective here might help. Received this today, described as such:

Marshall Crenshaw - Marshall Crenshaw (LP, Album, Win) (Warner Bros. Records - BSK 3673)
    Media Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Sleeve Condition: Near Mint (NM or M-)
    Gorgeous record! Not sure it was played. Sleeve also beautiful along with original inner sleeve. Fabulous record and sleeve!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I'm far from an expert - but this doesn't even remotely approach other NM/M- condition albums in my possession - many also purchased from Discogs. Haven't spun it yet, and the vinyl appears to be in nice shape.

The ring wear alone, and stickers on the back relegate this to VG at best, I would have thought. I have yet to go back to the seller, and thought a sanity check was in order. I didn't pay very much for this, so that's not the issue - just bugs me that it was advertised as NM/M- :wtf:

Maybe he sent the wrong one? What do you think?

EdogawaRampo likes this.
  2. Scott in DC

Scott in DC Forum Resident

I would contact the seller. The LP shown above is definitely not NM, VG or VG+ at best. How about the LP itself?

Scott

SecondHandNews and c-eling like this.
  3. cporcp

Haven't listened yet - visually it checks out as NM-.

4. GroovyVinylDood

GroovyVinylDood Forum Resident

I'm seeing what you are. I know grading can be tough and somewhat subjective but that is no where near NM or M- IMHO. Per above, I'd reach out to the seller with your valid concerns.

c-eling likes this.
  5. cporcp

I'll go ahead and contact them. I dislike leaving negative feedback, and hopefully some communication will clear things up.

Thanks!!

SecondHandNews and c-eling like this.
  6. The Hud

The Hud Breath of the Kingdom, Tears of the Wild