Room Correction! Does it help?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by thomaskong, Sep 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thomaskong

thomaskong Forum Resident Thread Starter

Accuphase DG-28

I had been using Accuphase Digital Equalizer since 2001.

It is still working fine.

With room correction, the overall balance is much better with tighter base and flat high frequency.

[​IMG]

I can not live without it.

Recently Lyngdorf got very popular with good room correction capability.

But I am a tube guy enjoying good timber out of it.

I will not go for Lyngdorf as amplifier.

But I recommend other people to try room correction.

If you are curious, you can try used DG-28 from Japan at 1,700

Accuphase DG-28 Digital Voicing Equalizer Free Shipping (R966 | eBay

It use 100V not 120V so you may need transformer

cdgenarian and The Pinhead like this.
  2. qrarolu

qrarolu Forum Resident

I have been using a Lyngdorf TDAi-2200 for the last ten years and, YES it works for me. Never had better bass, soundstage and tone. On the other hand my old Canton Digital room correction system never sounded right. If room correction works depends on the implementation.

thomaskong likes this.
  3. thomaskong

I an happy with my Accuphase for 18 years.

With my big space, room correction is essential.

4. Thomas_A

Thomas_A Forum Resident

Room correction helps but it must be done with care. Standing waves in the bass can be reduced by notch filters. However, the room response target curve is not trivial since room reflections are also part of the natural response and expected to happen by our ear and brains.

SandAndGlass and thomaskong like this.
  5. thomaskong

I agree with you. Even with room correction equalization, deflector panels and some bass absorption traps are strongly recommended.

6. Drewan77

Drewan77 Forum Resident

Yes, room correction helps but acoustic treatment wins. I use both.

7. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident